skip to: online tools | main navigation | content | footer

Materials Physics Department

The Materials Physics department at Sandia National Laboratories in Livermore, CA consists of a highly collaborative combination of theory and experiment. Our goal is to produce innovative, world-class science that impacts both energy security and national security. We emphasize discovering and elucidating the fundamental mechanisms that govern the behavior and properties of materials. Our core research areas are (1) surface structure and dynamics, (2) grain boundaries and other internal interfaces, (3) electron transport in nanostructures, and (4) thermoelectric materials.

Our major capabilities include a low-energy electron microscope (LEEM), a variable-temperature scanning tunneling microscope (STM), a transmission electron microscope (TEM) optimized for 3D tomography, and an aberration-corrected scanning transmission electron microscope (AC-STEM).

We are principally funded by the Office of Basic Energy Sciences, Division of Materials Sciences and Engineering, research funds from the National Nuclear Security Agence (NNSA), and Laboratory Directed Research and Development (LDRD) funds.





Norman C. Bartlet

Kevin Bergemann

Kimberlee C. Celio

Farid El Gabaly

Elliot J. Fuller

Yuping He

David Heredia

Francois Leonard

Yiyang Li

Zhiyong Li

Juan Llinas

Wei Pan

Catalin Spataru

Alec Talin

Konrad Thuermer

Steve Young


Science News Releases

MOF TE Materials

CNT THz Detectors

Beyond Moore Computing

Electrically-conducting MOFs

Li-ion battery characterization

Tunable thermal conductivity

TE Nanowires

AC-STEM Remote Operation